Another 16 Lawmakers opposing Radio Royalty.

Broadcasters continue to build support in Congress to block any proposed performance royalty on AM/FM radio. Another 14 House members and two Senators have joined the opposition, adding signatures to The Local Radio Freedom Act. The NAB-sponsored resolution now has 156 cosponsors in the House—it needs 218 to block a bill—and 17 in the Senate.

The new cosponsors in the House are Reps. Joe Barton (R-TX), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Sean Duffy (R-WI), Sam Graves (R-MO), Walter Jones (R-NC), Kenny Marchant (R-TX), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Paul Mitchell (R-MI), Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Pete Olson (R-TX), Erik Paulsen (R-MN), Stacey Plaskett (D-USVI-at large) and Bill Shuster (R-PA). Sens Susan Collins (R-ME) and Steve Daines (R-MT) are the new cosponsors of the Senate resolution.

The strong showing of congressional support comes despite an effort by the music industry’s lobbying group musicFirst Coalition to discourage members of Congress from signing the resolution.

Reps. Michael Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX) are the principal cosponsors of the nonbinding resolution (H. Con. Res. 13) in the House. Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) introduced a companion resolution in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 6).

The Local Radio Freedom Act asks for no new performance fee “relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station, for broadcasting sound recordings over the air, or on any business for the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio station broadcast over the air.”

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.